Lucky Charm Krispies

rice krispies

{Lucky Charm Krispies}

My grad school finals slowly crept up on me and now I am in total cram mode.  There is nothing worse than sitting down and studying for hours for days upon days. Luckily for me, Saint Patrick’s Day is coming up and in my mind it was a justified reason for a study break.

So I took it upon myself to surrender the books and head to the kitchen. Now, my time was relatively limited, I accepted the idea that I could not immerse myself in new recipes and experiment the way I normally like to do because my books were calling.  Then an amazing idea came to me… why not do rice krispies? They don’t require an oven and only require 3 ingredients.

Rice Krispies are fun to make, you get to play with your food, mold the little sugary bits of heaven into any shape you like, and lick the melted marshmallow off your fingers. But I couldn’t make just regular Rice Krispies, it’s Saint Patrick’s Day season! So I figured, why not go wild and use my favorite childhood sugary cereal of all time instead? Lucky Charms soon landed on the kitchen island and I was off on a journey to make Lucky Charm Krispies.

Ingredients:

Lucky Charm Krispies

3 tablespoons butter

4 cups of mini marshmallows

6 cups of Lucky Charms

Glaze

1 cup confectioners sugar

1 tablespoon of water

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Green Food Coloring

To make the Lucky Charm Krispies:

1. In a large saucepan heat butter and marshmallows over a low flame until completely melted
2. Remove from heat and stir in Lucky Charms until evenly coated
3. Using a buttered spatula  press the Lucky Charm marshmallow mixture into a greased baking pan (I used a 13×9 pan)
4. Let cool
5. Cut out clover shapes with a cookie cutter and set aside
6. Next, make a mixture of confectioners sugar, water, vanilla, and green food coloring until smooth. You may have to add more or less water to make the consistency just right.
7. Top with additional sprinkles and let set for one hour.
*I didn’t have a clover cookie cutter on hand, so  I used three mini hearts instead. Then I used a lollipop stick to assemble them into cute clover pops!
Screenshot (7) (1)
Source| Adapted from Rice Krispies
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lucky Charm Krispies

  1. these are so cute! wish I could have made these yesterday..oh well will just have to wait for st. pattys day next year!

  2. Mari says:

    Looks so delish!!

Leave a Reply

