Eggs in Purgatory

DSC_1067

{Eggs in Purgatory}

I just finished up my grad school finals this past week (weird timing, I know, our schedule runs on trimesters) and I was craving some serious comfort food. I was beyond exhausted with school work, actual work, family parties, and other random life events. I was way too tired to cook any type of difficult and time-consuming recipe that would have contributed to my exhaustion level. Instead, I  decided to make one of my favorite comfort food recipes that takes only minutes to make and is so easy that I could do it blindfolded.

I learned this recipe from my Grandfather who taught me a lot of  my favorite recipes.  When he was a young boy, growing up with his immigrant Italian family in New York, they would cook this dish because it was easy, cheap, and not to mention delicious. Eggs in Purgatory? Yeah, the name is a little strange, but I like to think it’s called this because the eggs are in limbo in a yummy fiery red sauce.

I have made this recipe  for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or whenever I’m craving some serious authentic comfort food.  Being the marinara blooded Italian that I am, my house always has these ingredients so I can whip up this dish pretty quickly. Trust me after you taste this you’ll be sure to always keep these ingredients in your house too. Make sure to pair this dish with some toasted bread to dunk or to use as a vehicle to carry the delicious eggy/sauce combo from the skillet to your mouth.

DSC_1073

Ingredients:

Eggs in Purgatory

2 Garlic cloves minced or grated

3 Tablespoons olive oil

 15 oz Can crushed tomatoes

1/4 Tsp red pepper flakes

2 Basil leaves chopped

Salt & Pepper to taste

2 or 3 Eggs (can add more if you wish)

1 Tablespoon Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

 

To make Eggs in Purgatory:

1. In a large skillet sauté garlic and oil until golden brown (make sure not to burn it)
2. Pour in crushed tomatoes, basil, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper
3. Simmer sauce for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally
4. Crack eggs into sauce, sprinkle Parmigiano-Reggiano, and cover it partially with a lid
4. Cook eggs for about 4-5 minutes until the white of the egg is cooked but yolk is still a bit runny
5. Eat in the skillet. Why? Because it makes it taste that much better (just don’t burn yourself!)
Screenshot (7) (1)
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

