Giving Thanks

I know, normally, I am my super silly self, but today is Thanksgiving, so my post is going to a bit more deliberately expressed.

For those of you who probably don’t know, I work on the floors of a children’s hospital. Many people are often heartbroken at the idea that I help normalize the hospital experience for very, very sick children and their families. I play games, talk to families, and make arts & crafts in the play room with many children. For the children who are so sick they can’t leave their hospital bed, I go into their rooms and bring a bunch of activities or even sometimes just sit with them to keep them company. This is where I learned to play a mean game of Monopoly Deal, make Shrinky Dinks like a champ, and trained my lungs to make countless latex balloon gloves.  

collage

It is a heartbreaking, yet very rewarding job, that reassures me to be thankful for even the slightest little gems in my everyday life.  What these children have taught me is that there is always, always something to be thankful for. Today, I want to share some things I am thankful for in hopes that you will do the same:

I am thankful for my eyes which allows me to see the good in people.

I am thankful for my home, the food I eat (or blog about haha), & the clothes on my back.

I am thankful for my good health.

I am thankful for long weekends, ice cream cake, and HGTV.

I am thankful for the difficult times, because it is during those times I grow.

I am thankful for you, my followers, for brightening up my day when I least expect it.

I am thankful for my family, friends, and loved ones who have helped me become the person I am today.

Most importantly, I am thankful for the gift of life, because there are people who are fighting to survive.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Amanda

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

